An exciting new unaffiliated eventing series has been launched for 2021.

The organisers of seven popular horse trials have come together to launch the league leading to a final at Frickley Park in September.

Known as the Brigante Cup, the series gets underway at Epworth Horse Trials on 25 April and will be run at 80cm, 90cm and 100cm level.

Showjumping at Shelford

The top two in each section at the qualifiers will automatically earn a place in the final with those riders from third place down each accruing points. This will be run on a league basis with the most number of points accepted into the final.

The Grand Final will see competitors perform a long arena dressage test in front of the Hall at Frickley, followed by a championship-standard cross-country course, before the finale of reverse order show jumping to crown the champions at 80cm, 90cm and 100cm levels. The Grand Final will also see a range of other unaffiliated classes at all levels.

“As a group of organisers we wanted to come together to lift the level of unaffiliated eventing available for competitors and the plan is coming together really well,” said Helen Bell, organiser of the Breckenbrough qualifier:

“All the qualifiers are at great venues and to have the final at Frickley Park will be a fantastic location for these hard working riders who can look forward to a prestigious occasion towards the end of the season.”

John Coupland, organiser of Eland Lodge, said that the series gives competitors at an unaffiliated level an excellent selection of courses and facilities to experience.

“We are delighted to be hosting the finals of the Brigante Cup and look forward to delivering a real championship occasion for all competitors,” added William Buck of Frickley Park.

Qualifiers for the final will take place at:

  • Epworth – 24 April
  • Eland Lodge – 2 May
  • Breckenbrough – 15 May
  • Shelford – 1 June
  • Eland Lodge – 12 June
  • Northallerton – 18 July
  • Cholmondley – 7/8 August
  • Epworth – 15 August
  • Northallerton – 29 August
  • Shelford – 30 August
  • Frickley – 12 and 13 September – grand final

The qualifiers and final will all be run under British Eventing rules.

For further information visit