rwtag
Skip Navigation Links.

Related Gear

Gear reviews

Old Mac’s Multi-purpose horse boots

£106.81

Your Horse rating
rating is 0
Owners' rating
rating is 4.5

Features: The Old Mac’s Multi-purpose horse boots offer an alternative to traditional shoeing. They provide protection to the hoof wall and foot, allow unhindered horn growth and natural flexing of joints during exercise. Ideal for horses with poor feet, navicular, laminitis or Cushings. Suspension system can also aid recovery from concussion injuries. Suitable for all disciplines.

Colour Options: Black
Size Options: 0-8

Your Horse review

Your Horse rating
rating is 0

Tester: Reader Charlotte Wheeler from Surrey bought a pair of these boots four years ago.


What’s great?

Charlotte says: “My pony had a bout of laminitis and the vet advised taking his shoes off to help the healing process. His hooves always split when shod and he would frequently lose shoes. After trying lots of supplements to stop this, I came across these boots in a catalogue and decided to go shoeless. They protect the hoof from bruised soles etc, and they clean up beautifully.”

Users' Overall Rating
rating is 4.5
(5 reviews)

  • Fantastic Product!

    Anonymous

    Users' Overall Rating

    rating is 4

    Show Details

    Design and Fit
    rating is 4
    Performance
    rating is 5
    Value for Money
    rating is 4

    My horse went barefoot about 3 years ago (as has awful flat feet and can't keep shoes on) and I bought a pair of Old Mac G2s and haven't looked back! I use them mainly for hacking but in the beginning when she was very foot sore I used them to walk her down a track to the field. Using them means I can hack out whatever the ground conditions - am just about to replace my 1st pair which lasted 3 years and were subject to a lot of mud and water! As long as you clean them after use they last. I do think that £100 a pair is pretty expensive but the money I have saved not having shoes probably outways the initial layout. The only one niggle I have is that I found that if I didn't use the gaiters then the back of the boots rubbed my horse's heels but thats a minor issue. A brilliant product which I would (and have) happily recommend!

    26 January 2010 15:26

  • Brilliant Boots!

    trojan_warrior

    reward badge

    Users' Overall Rating

    rating is 4.5

    Show Details

    Design and Fit
    rating is 5
    Performance
    rating is 4
    Value for Money
    rating is 5

    I bought a set of Old Mac G2s when I decided to take the plunge and have my horse's shoes removed. That was just over 2 years ago and he's still using the first pair of front boots. I really like these boots and find them easy to put on and take off. There are no metal fastenings that interfere with the hoof nor is there any pressure on the hoof wall. They fasten by a webbing strap done in a figure of 8 around the pastern just above the heel and the outer boot is pulled snuggly around the hoof. The boot is finished off with a leather strap which can be a bit fiddly to do. Unfortunately the boot parts aren't replaceable, so if you have a clumsy horse who likes to tread on himself then you'll find that you have to replace the boots more often than you'd like. Otherwise they do last a very long time. To make your horse more comfortable you can put comfort pads inside the boot if he has soft soles and use the supplied gaiters to prevent rubbing of the coronet and pastern. These boots are suitable for most horses although they are not recommended for those that twist their foot on contact with the ground. This causes the boot to twist and will result in rubbing where the strap lies and possible damage to the hoof. However, the addition of Old Mac inserts to get a really close fit can help prevent this. I've used these boots in all sorts of conditions and they stay on through the stickiest of Welsh mud. I would definately recommend these boots.

    (Written by: trojan_warrior)

    21 June 2009 15:40

  • Old Mac originals and G2s

    Jayne Woods

    reward badge

    Users' Overall Rating

    rating is 5

    Show Details

    Design and Fit
    rating is 5
    Performance
    rating is 5
    Value for Money
    rating is 5

    We use both of thses boots and have found them invaluable. We don't normally shoe our horses so when we went to the lack Hills South Dakota we invested in Old Macs, thay were the only boot on the trail that didn't come off and we went through bogs over rocks etc. We also have a horse who is constantly foot sore on hard ground, shoes never stayed on so Old Mac's it was, she loves them.

    (Written by: Jayne Woods)

    12 June 2009 00:40

  • fantastic!!

    sarahwisdom

    Users' Overall Rating

    rating is 4.5

    Show Details

    Design and Fit
    rating is 5
    Performance
    rating is 5
    Value for Money
    rating is 4

    I own a 21 yaer old pony that has had laminitis for the past 3 years, hes not been shod for years but recently became more and more footsore. I spoke with my farrier and we were both scepticle of the possibility of him being re shod, so i decided to give the old macs a go and there fantastic, my pony and i have never looked back.

    (Written by: sarahwisdom)

    23 July 2008 12:03

  • Old Macs Horse Boots

    Helen Morrell

    reward badge

    Users' Overall Rating

    rating is 5

    Show Details

    Design and Fit
    rating is 5
    Performance
    rating is 5
    Value for Money
    rating is 5

    I would recommend these boots to anyone. My mare had her shoes taken off due to arthritis and intermittent unrelated lameness almost two years ago. Shes been sound ever since going barefoot and ive had her in the same pair of old macs for just over a year, theyve never rubbed or slipped and the only wear so far is at the toe. the initial outlay cost for the boots is not much compared to a years shoeing costs and trimms are only every seven weeks with enough left over to treat us both!

    (Written by: helen and mia)

    12 July 2008 22:37

Page

Discuss this

Add your comment

Old Mac’s Multi-purpose horse boots

Subject

Your comment

By submitting your comment, you agree to adhere to the Your Horse Site's Terms and Conditions

Cancel

hollyzara

hollyzara says

RE: Old Mac’s Multi-purpose horse boots

 I have a pony that suffers from most of the above, flat feet, laminitis and bruised feet! You have them advertised at £106. Do you sell them o can you tell me where to buy them at that price? Thanks!! 

17 October 2012 09:12

Ask An Expert

Need Advice? Visit our Q&A section and get your questions answered by Your Horse experts and other users. Ask a question here.