rwtag

Meet the Moderators

Meet the Moderators of these forums

Meet the Experts

Meet the Experts in these forums

Presently, there are no Experts to meet.

Your Horse Forum and Community

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

xxkatexxjayxx

Joined:

May 08

Posts: 5

Heyy

Well I'm 24 and live in the West Midlands. I work for a college of higher education in Bartley Green and have been there for 5 and a half years now. For 22 years of my life I lived in Bartley Green but then met my boyfriend and we moved in together in February 2007, we are living in Birmingham City Centre in a lovely apartment :)


I've been involved with horses since I started learning to ride at the age of 4. At first I just had weekly 1/2 hour treks across the local country park, then progressed on to weekly lessons. I did goto 2 other riding schools to try them but ended up going back to the first one as it was closer. By the time I was eight I was helping there and stayed until I was 11.

Then I found another yard from a couple of personal recommendations, went to have a look around and was hooked. I had my first lesson which was an assessment lesson to see which group to put me in on a lovely Dales x Fell called Justin. I rode and helped there every weekend and during the school holidays from 1995 until 2006 (even when I started work I helped out there at weekends and when I was off work), although it did close for about 8 months whilst the proprietor had a baby so I went back to the first yard, then went back to Twylands when it reopened (confusing I know, sorry!). I loved Twylands and rode nearly all their horses including the minature shetland!! I took part in fun rides and the yard show as well as hacking out loads. I also part loaned a couple of horses from that yard and used to take one of the school horses out on hacks with my mate and her horse (who she kept on livery there)!

Now I'm helping my friend out with her horses at her own yard not to far from Solihull RC.

In the past I've also done fun rides and have worked on the beach in Brean numerous summers taking out the pony rides which was great fun. I'd love to be able to do it for the whole season but I couldn't afford it (though at the time when I was asked to it was very tempting!!)

Sorry for going on for so long *blush*
 

17hh 11 year old ISH gelding for sale. Excellent to handle/ride, great in traffic. Very sad sale

Reply to this Topic 

 

Post a message in Welcome and Introductions

To post a reply to this topic, please Log In.

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. Read full terms of use